Know Your Stun Gun Laws Or Face The Law

Owning a stun gun can be a wonderful means of self defense but it comes with responsibility. Just like many things in everyday life, you need to know the laws. Owning an electric self defense device is no exception. If you don’t know the laws for your location then you will find yourself in a heap of trouble.

My goal today is to give you an in-depth look at the stun gun laws in several states. As far as I know there isn’t a single place you can go to get all the specify areas of legality, including punishment, in one place. So I want to make sure everyone can look at this article and know exactly what to expect when getting an electrical stunning device.

Due to this, the article will be on the long side. To make it easier finding the information you may be looking for, I will put each states name in bold. Also, in each section when available, I will highlight the specific laws in question to enable you to further research them.

The majority of states in the United States allow you to own a stun gun for self defense. There are, however, several that have outlawed them. Below you can find information about states where they are illegal. If you do not live in one of these states then there are no specific laws that outlaw them.

Connecticut

Legal Status: Legal with Restrictions

Relevant Laws: Connecticut Criminal Law Title 53 Crimes, Title 53a Penal Code, Title 54 Criminal Procedure

The first state I want to talk about today is Connecticut. If you live in Connecticut you are lawfully allowed to keep a stun gun in your home or place of business but are not allowed to carry it on you, outside of those locations. In order to carry one on your person you must first be granted a permit to do so.

You are able to get a permit from the following:

From the First Selectman of a town.

The Mayor or chief of police of a city.

The warden of a borough.

When requesting a permit you may need to provide finger prints and agree to a criminal history check. If you’re a felon then you can forget about obtaining a permit. Anyone that has been convicted of a felony is automatically disqualified from gaining a permit. If you are approved for a permit it is VERY important to know that the permit is only for the city/town you received it from. If you travel out of that town with it you are subject to criminal penalty.

Penalties: Being caught with one in Connecticut can result in a maximum fine of $500 and/or a maximum of 3 years in prison.

Washington DC

Legal Status: Illegal

Relevant Laws: DC Code Ann. Title 6, Chapter 23. Firearms Control. Subchapter I General Provisions 3-2302

If you live in Washington DC, owning a stun gun is not an option for you. They are outright illegal to own, which makes this explanation straight forward. The bottom line is you can’t own one and if you are caught with one you’re in trouble

Illinois

Legal Status: Restricted

If you live in Illinois the process of purchasing a stun gun is very similar, if not identical, to purchasing a firearm.

You must hold a void FOID(Firearms Owners Identification) card which is the same that is required for firearms. The person that sells the stun gun must check your FOID card and keep record of the sale for 10 years. You are required to pass a background check. You will also have to commit to a 24 hour waiting period before you are allowed to complete the purchase.

Once you have legally purchased a one it is important to note that you are not allowed to carry it in a concealed manner. It is meant to be kept at home or primary place of business for self defense purposes.

Penalties: If you are found with a concealed stun gun or carrying it without a license you can be charged with a misdemeanor. However, if you use it one someone in an offensive, non self defense manner, it is considered a non-aggravated Class 4 Felony which can result in up to 3 years in prison. If it is considered aggravated it can become a Class 2 felony which is punishable by 3-7 years in prison.

Hawaii

Legal Status: Illegal

Relevant Laws: Rev. Stats. Title 10, Chapter 134. Firearms Ammunition and Dangerous. Part 1 General Regulations. Chapter 134-1 Definitions.

Hawaii is also another state that has outright banned the sale and possession of them. This means under no circumstances are you legally allowed to have one.

Penalty: If you are found with a stun gun in Hawaii you can be charged with a petty misdemeanor and will have it confiscated.

Massachusetts

Legal Status: Illegal

Relevant Laws: Chapter 140 Sale of Firearms. Section 131J: Sale or possession of electrical weapons. Penalties Section 131J.

If you live in Massachusetts than your not able to own a stun gun. They are another state that has outright banned the ability to possess one. However, being found with one here has steeper consequences than other states. So if you’re thinking about breaking the law and getting one, you might want to rethink that.

Penalties: If you are found with a stun gun in your possession you will receive a fine of $500-$1000 and/or receive 6 months to 2 years in jail.

Michigan

Legal Status: Illegal

Relevant Laws: Michigan Penal Code Act 328 of 1931. Chapter 750.224a

If you live in Michigan than owning a stun gun is not an option for you. I’ve searched through the laws on Michigan’s Government website and was unable to find the specific penalties for possessing one. Chances are they’re similar to other states so the fact remains, you flat out don’t want to be caught in possession of one.

New Jersey

Legal Status: Illegal

Relevant Laws: New Jersey Stat. Ann. Title 2C. New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice. Chapter 39-1, Prohibited weapons and devices.

New Jersey is yet another state that has outright banned the possession of stun guns. That means there are no permits you can receive. Bottom line is, if you are found in possession of one you can face some pretty stiff consequences.

Penalties: If you are found in possess of an electric stunning device in New Jersey you can face a stint in jail up to 18 months and/or a fine up to $7,500. In New Jersey crimes are not classified as Felony or Misdemeanor. They are classified as 1st degree through 4th degree with 1st degree being the most severe. Possession of one is considered a crime of the 4th degree.

New York

Legal Status: Illegal

Relevant Laws: New York Consolidated Law Book 39, Penal Law. Article 265, Firearms and Other Dangerous Weapons 265.00

New York is notorious for having hard laws against weapons. This includes stun guns. They have made it totally illegal to own one. With a population as large as New York it is important to have these hard line laws in place to protect the public.

Penalties: If you live in or travel to New York and have a stun gun you can be charged with a crime of the 4th degree, a class A misdemeanor. This means you can be charged with a fine up to $1000. That’s a pretty bad punishment but it can get worse. If you use any dangerous weapons to commit a crime against another person you can be charged with a class C felony. This means you could be fined up to $5000 along with prison time. The amount of the fine/jail time depend on the specific crime committed.

Rhode Island

Legal Status: Illegal

Relevant Laws: General Laws of Rhode Island. Title 11, Chapter 47. Statute Subsection 11-47-42.

Rhode Island is yet another state where it is illegal to own or possess one. They also have stiff penalties for doing so.

Penalties: If you are found in possession of a stun gun while in the state of Rhode Island you can receive a fine up to $1,000 and/or up to 1 year in prison. So the bottom line is, don’t possess one while in Rhode Island.

Wisconsin

Legal Status: Illegal

Relevant Laws: Wisconsin Sta. Ann Chapter 939, Crimes – General Provisions. Chapter 939.22, Words and phrases defined.

In Wisconsin it is against the law to own or possess any “Electronic Stun Device”. A big difference in Wisconsin verses other states where they are illegal is the harshness of the penalties for getting caught with one.

Penalties: In Wisconsin, if you’re found with any electronic stunning device you will be charged with a Class E felony. A Class E Felony can carry a maximum fine of $50,000 and/or 15 years in prison. Keep in mind those are maximum figures for a Class E Felony in general. The circumstances involving your specific charge play a role in what you will actually face.

There you have it, an in-depth look at states where you cannot own a stun gun. If the state you live in is not listed above than you don’t have anything to worry about. However, laws tend to change over time so to be safe you should still check with your local police department prior to purchasing a one.

Cheap Paintball Gun – Online Auctions

Do your research

Buying online is easy and saves you time, but you should never cut corners on your product research before you decide to buy a paintball gun or a paintball gun accessory. You hear so many unhappy stories of people who bought a paintball gun or accessory in haste which did not actually meet their needs, or was not compatible with their other paintball gear. You need to know about a products features and reputation, whether the manufacturer is still in business and can service your paintball gun, and it all comes down to thorough research. There is no substitute for proper research and it should not be rushed. You will regret it if you do.

Finding an online paintball gun auction

A quick search in Google should give you a list of paintball gun auction sites. A good place to start is eBay. You will need to register with the paintball gun auction site before you can take part in auctions. Make sure you read the auction site’s rules and be aware of any fees or commissions for which you will be charged.

The photograph

Buyers should check that the paintball gun in the photograph is the paintball gun that the seller says it is. If the seller has not posted a photograph, then ask to see a photograph of the actual paintball gun or paintball gun accessory being sold. Do not be satisfied with a picture of the product taken from the manufacturer’s website.

Sellers should take a photograph of the paintball gun or accessory since a photograph will give you a much better chance of making a sale. You want the buyer to see a good photo showing all the paintball gun’s features, including upgrades, so take a number of photos, experiment with background and lighting and see which looks best online.

You are entering a binding agreement

An agreement to buy or sell a paintball gun or paintball gun accessories through an online auction amounts to a binding contract, but this will not stop some people refusing to go through with the deal after the agreement has been made.

The auction site will have rules governing transactions and failure to complete on an agreed deal, and you need to be aware of these and have recourse to them if something goes wrong. Sites vary in the degree to which they become involved when a party fails to complete, but you should always report those that flout the rules to the auction site. In most cases people who break the rules are prohibited from taking part in further auctions.

In practice, there is usually not much more you can do if a party agrees to buy or sell a paintball gun or accessory but does not complete on the deal.

Check out the buyer or seller’s online reputation

However, before you start bidding for a paintball gun, check out the other party’s online reputation at the auction site to find out what other people say about them. On eBay, buyers and sellers are rated and you can even contact people who have previously done business with the buyer or seller. If you see some negative comments, then seek further clarification from the comment maker as to what the problem was with the buyer or seller. Then form your own opinion as to whether you can trust the buyer or seller.

Keep a record of all communications

If you send e-mails to the other party then keep a record of these. Likewise, if you speak to them on the phone, make a note right away of what was said and date the note. Such e-mails and notes are evidence of what was agreed between the parties and these will be useful if you have to refer the matter to the auction site if the other party does not complete the deal.

I have found that you can tell a fair amount about a paintball gun seller from how they respond to questions, and how quickly they respond. Send off an e-mail with a few product and payment questions and then see how the seller responds. If the response is evasive or misleading or rude, then trust your gut instinct and do not contract with the seller.

Price, payment and delivery

As a seller, many auction sites will allow you to put a reserve price on your paintball gun or paintball gun accessory so that it cannot be sold for a lower price.

Common forms of payment are credit cards or PayPal, but each seller will have their own requirements, of which a buyer should be aware. It is always a good idea to e-mail to confirm how payment is to be made.

If you are selling, make sure you get payment confirmed before you despatch the goods.

Buyers should be aware that con artists sometimes pose as sellers in order to get buyers to send money transfers, for example ‘wiring’ money through Western Union, so be very suspicious of anyone who insists on payment in this manner.

Shipping costs will in most cases be additional to the price, and they should be quoted separately. If none are quoted, then ask. Also ask when you can expect to receive the paintball gun.

The Importance of Stun Guns For Women

It was the early morning hours and Samantha was coming from the club that she had enjoyed with her two girlfriends, Sherri and Lana. They had all driven in different cars and parked elsewhere. As Samantha walked to her car, she stopped shortly as she remembered the ritual that she had to go through each time she would walk to her car. She stopped under the street lights and pulled her keys and stun gun from her small purse.

She scolded herself because this should have been done before she vacated the club building. She looked around and saw people going by, but minding their own business. She hoped no one saw her. She was a little tired, but knew that she had to stay alert for any possible attackers. She had learned in her self defense class how important it was to remain alert of ones surroundings. There were a few other people walking to their car, but from a distance. She observed her surroundings, which was another self defense tactic. Her stun gun was also one of the effective self defense tools that could save lives.

She had heard stories about stalkers and bad men who took advantage of women who walked alone and she had made sure to do all she could to protect herself and it paid off so far. She had encouraged both Sherri and Lana to do the same. She mentally prepared herself to call to make sure that they had gotten home safely. She had not gotten the opportunity to use her stun gun, but she vowed to use it if confronted by a stalker or an intruder.

What is the stun gun and how can it be effectively used by a woman?

Stun guns are self defense weapons that woman can use to protect themselves against crime. It is a hand-held device that releases a voltage on the intruder and produces shock waves. Stun guns are not gender specific. However, many manufacturers are seeing the need for specialized stun guns for women are they are becoming quite popular. This is because of the increasing number of attacks that women experience more than men do. Stun guns have become the self defense tool of choice for a lot of women including pepper spray as well.

How to use the Stun Gun

You would have to hold the electrodes very firmly on the person who is attacking you and place it on an area such as the upper shoulder and then you release it. Continue to apply pressure for several seconds until the intruder is down and helpless.

Is the Stun gun safe to use?

A stun gun is not harmful in any way because all it does is to shock the attacker and will not cause any permanent damage. Your goal is to render the attacker helpless. The effect from a stun gun is to the area that is affected and it does not pass through the body to harm any organs. It cannot kill anyone.

Is a stun gun legal to use?

Stun guns may be restricted in some areas, but for the most part, it is legal in most areas. You have to check your local area to find out before you purchase the stun gun.

Samantha got home safely and made the phone call to Lana and Sherri and found out that they had arrived home safely too. It felt safe to have a stun gun for self defense and she vowed to recommend it to most of her friends and anyone she met.